PEN AND PAD

Standard

Here’s a conversation between Mr. Pen and Miss Pad. I can’t help but eavesdrop on them. By all means enjoy this.

In a dark room. The evening moon fills only a small corner.

Pen: (Ponders) What can’t i spill my ink on?

Pad: (Laughs) Every surface is meant for you to bleed on

Pen: It’s not a joke…

Pad: Calm down dear, you are meant to love every surface you come in contact with

Pen: Yeah, that’s true, but sometimes i get stuck and refuse to spill ink

Pad: Why’s that?

Pen: I don’t know exactly why, but i know some surfaces are not just right for my tips’ poke

Pad: Very funny… (Flips)

Pen: (Angrily) Stop flipping. i am distracted by your wantonness. You always have a way to get me drawn to you

Pad: I will keep flipping until you fill me with all you’ve got

Pen: (Heaves) You win. i have no other option

Pad: Good! wait a minute, i heard you a while ago that you’ll love bleeding until you hunger for more pads…

Pen: Uhmmm… I guess so…

Pad: you mean you’ll be cheating on me?

Pen: (Defensive) I never said so…

Pad: Then..?

Pen: I love you very much, but i have no other option. I can’t stick to you alone. After all, i have seen several of my kind spilling their ink on you. i never complained (Mumbles) may be i did…

Pad: Well, i don’t have an option too, do i?

Pen: No you don’t

Pad: Neither do i

Pen: Our relationship never ends. I guess we know how to handle our flirtatious lifestyle, right?

Pad: (Flips) I guess so…

Pen: Anyway, let’s get ready for tonight…

Pad: Oh no!

Pen: What again?

Pad: I can’t say what it is…

Pen: Just be prepared for tonight. I don’t know what our user will write again tonight

Pad: (Heaves) She is always writing. I am scared…

Pen: (Surprised) Why is that?

Pad: (Sobs) I have just two pages left

Pen: Oh!

Pad: Yes… that means, we may not continue in this relationship again
Silence

Pen: Never mind, no matter how fresh the other might be, i know i will still be brought to fill up your edges and spaces

Pad: Oh well, (Mockingly) i see you are almost finished too and will be replaced, then, we will be old; you’ll be thrown away, while I’ll be kept safe.

Pen: Well, thanks for reminding me. there’s really no need for me to feel bad, my colleagues will continue from where i stopped; Poking pads like you and bleeding my ink on them.

Silence

Moments later, the writer walks into the dark room, turns on the light and picks up Pen and Pad to write.

Both: Oh no!

Pad: i have a feeling this story will end both or one of us

Pen: I’m guessing it’s you…

Pad: (Angrily) Shut up! That’s not funny…

Writer begins to scribble voraciously on the title ‘THE UNTOLD’ passionately. She tears a page from the writing pad and throws it in the bin.

Pad: (Shocked) She just tore a part of me! I am doomed!

Pen: Sorry Pad, I will miss you, but i know i will soon join you…

Pad: Shut up jor! Not funny anymore

Pen: Ok, i will miss you

Writer is done. She drops Pen and safely tucks Pad in a mini book-shelf.

Pen: Pad… (Calls out softly) Pad, can you hear me?

Silence

Reading light is turned off. Pen Heaves

About neofloetry

I am a lover of the real things of life and love. An actress, Playwright, Poetess and a lover of Hip Hop. I do not compromise my happiness for any negative thing and i am human. I just love to scribble down my thoughts, no matter the topic... I make mistakes! Welcome to my blog page.

Leave a Reply

