AYODEJI

Standard

AYODEJI

The sun smiled not on this crooked path;
the one you had chosen for decades,
when barricaded smiles fluttered within
your hearts’ bars.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Ayodeji, Let me walk this mile with you,
for the world to sing our daily songs.
Let not our tender palpitating hearts squirm
at the sight of tomorrow’s journey.

Let our voices trace paths like ripples
on melted burdens;
and our fingers pointing towards fancied dreams,
that will rest; chauffeured on the rainbow’s colorful smile,
after years of teary downpours.

I want to behold your coupling thoughts,
birthing new generations.
Boundaries, diminishing at your splendour, and days
blooming like orchids in a field of greatness.

Ayodeji, let me be the reason you studied Geography,
and the purpose you chose this rock.
Let me see you travel around your past; shovelling,
and burying every wrong memory till they become
fossils irrelevant to the bellowing wind.

I want to cup your present with hands of care;
and cause other men to stare,
beaming jealously in unclad shame.
I want to rest, forever, nurturing little replicas of you;
when laughter and joy finally own us.

For you, my world will be rebuilt on honey tears.
Tears that will flow as an ocean; rowing your boat
towards my heart’s tunnel of overflowing love.
For you, the earth will tremble at our conquered feat;
a vision written on dotted sheets.

©Edwina Aleme

About neofloetry

I am a lover of the real things of life and love. An actress, Playwright, Poetess and a lover of Hip Hop. I do not compromise my happiness for any negative thing and i am human. I just love to scribble down my thoughts, no matter the topic... I make mistakes! Welcome to my blog page.

Leave a Reply

